↑ Return to Band Awards

Print this Page

Band Awards: The John Philip Sousa Band Award


The John Philip Sousa Band Award

The John Philip Sousa Award is an optional award a high school band director may award to one of their students. It is restricted to one per school per year (or two in the rare event of a tie).
“Since its inauguration in 1954, thousands of U.S. high schools have presented the John Philip Sousa Band Award to their most outstanding band student. The award recognizes those young musicians displaying superior musicianship, leadership, dependability, loyalty, cooperation, and other qualities of conduct which school instrumental music programs strive to impart. The Sousa award is the top nationwide prize in the school band field, both in prestige and appearance. It promotes the entire band by encouraging musicians to greater achievement and enthusiasm while providing an inspiring stimulus for potential instrumentalists. The handsome award reflects credit on both the band and the band director.
It is fitting that this award should be inspired by the name of John Philip Sousa, the premiere American bandsman who was elected in 1973 to the Hall of Fame for Great Americans. No other composer is so well known to band students, and Sousa was one of the most renowned supporters of school music programs. He appeared as a great conductor of school bands throughout the U.S. and served as an adjudicator of numerous youth band festivals.”  ~Copyrighted 1983 The Instrumentalist


The Original Endorsement of the Sousa Family

”We both feel that great credit is due to the editors of The Instrumentalist for the very fine idea of offering a Sousa Award to stimulate interest in school band music and to reward outstanding students for their contributions to this movement. The award is the continuance of a tradition-interest in young people and in school band music-that was very close to the heart of our father. We feel that the award is a wonderful goal, the acquisition of which will be a project in which the student may expend his energies in a most praiseworthy manner.” ~Signed Helen Sousa Albert and Priscilla Sousa


Congratulations to Aaron Smokovitz, the winner of the 2017 John Philip Sousa Band Award.  The Award is presented at the High School Awards Night.


Past John Philip Sousa Award Winners:

2016        Liliana Gorsuch
2015        Lauren Hansen
2014        Zach Mead & Nicole Hansen
2013        Christopher Eidsmoe
2012        Adam Terwillegar
2011         Kelsey Stark & Amber Streu
2010       Jason Hagle
2009      Brian Church & Corey Bowen
2008      Kelcie Sweeney
2007       Casey Brege & Will Parker
2006      Joe Vercellino
2005      Christopher Deming
2004      Cherry Mashue
2003      Kendra Deming
2002      Erik Jacobson
2001       James Kowalski
2000      Jeannie Edwards & Diana Wilson
1999        Tammy Reamsma
1998        Matthew Fuller
1997         Devon Wilson & Josh Smokovitz
1996        Robert Edwards
1995        Nikki Deja
1994        Sara Glynn
1993        Christina Bejarano
1992        Mark Gath
1991         Kaona Alden
1990       Angela Winchester
1989       Jim Jordan
1988       Pat Wyse
1987        Doug Yesmunt
1986       Lori Adamcik
1985       Mike Settineri
1984       Mark McFarlane
1983       Gail Popp
1982       Kathy Sargent
1981        Ron Garrett
1980       Karen Wontorcik
1979       Ann Fisher
1978       Dave Moorhead
1977       Mary Fitzgibbon
1976       Lise Steinmetz
1975       Julie Pangborn
1974       Sue Holton
1973       Ronda Haggit
1972       Theresa Parker
1971        Clara Steinmetz
1970       Ken Wolf
1969       Jim Sirrine
1968       Larry Leckrone
1967       Margo Plueddemann
1966      Sharon Mick
1965      Sue Wolgast



Permanent link to this article: http://www.bcreek.k12.mi.us/?page_id=9966